Information about provision in the Early Years

Extracts from Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage published March 2014
The Foundation Stage and seven areas of learning are:
The prime areas are:
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
The specific areas are:
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design
All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The four guiding principles of the Early Years Foundation Stage are:
  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates